Home Inverness colorado USA Cycling Announces 2022 Mountain Bike World Championships Team – Cycling West

USA Cycling Announces 2022 Mountain Bike World Championships Team – Cycling West


Team USA travels to Les Gets, France for the World Short Track, Cross Country, Downhill, E-Bike and Team Relay Championships.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (August 5, 2022) – USA Cycling today announced the athletes who will represent the United States at the 2022 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Les Gets, France, August 22-28.

After impressive results last weekend at the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup in Snowshoe, WV, the team is in great position for the world championships.

Defending World Short Track Champion Christopher Blevins (Durango, Colo.; Specialized Factory Racing) won his first Elite XCO World Cup on snowshoes in 2021 and returned this year to earn his first Short Track World Cup victory in front of the local audience. He is in great shape heading into the World Championships to defend his title.

Gwendalyn Gibson (Ramona, CA; Norco Bicycles) and Savilia Blunk (Inverness, CA; Orange Seal Off-Road Team) have also achieved incredible results over the past few weeks, with Gibson winning the UCI Short Track World Cup and Blunk powering to his first victory at the national elite cross-country championship. Both ladies also placed in the Top 10 at Snowshoe in their first year of racing in the elite XCO class.

XCO veterans and Olympians Haley Batten (Park City, Utah; Specialized Factory Racing) and Kate Courtney (Kentfield, Calif.; SCOTT-SRAM Factory Racing) have been showing strong form recently and are looking to finish their season well.

In the Men’s U23 category, Riley Amos (Durango, Colo.; Trek Factory Racing) and Bjorn Riley (Boulder, Colo.; Team Trek VAUDE) are two of the favorites for the men’s race. Amos has scored multiple World Cup podiums this season, even becoming the first-ever American to win an U23 World Cup in 2021. Sadly, he broke his collarbone at the Nationals but is looking to recover quickly and come back . in time for the Worlds. Bjorn Riley won the national U23 title, then narrowly missed out on a win on rackets by finishing second on his first World Cup podium.

The U23 women’s class will be led by Madigan Munro (Boulder, Colo.; Trek Factory Racing) who scored her first U23 World Cup podium last weekend at Snowshoe after winning the U23 National Cross Country Championship earlier in the week in Winter Park, Colo.

Jesse Anthony, director of cyclocross and mountain biking at USA Cycling, said, “The USA National Cycling Team showed what we are capable of at Snowshoe, and the athletes are well prepared for these world championships. American mountain bike athletes had a relatively quiet season on the World Cup circuit, and we slowly gained momentum towards the end of the season. We are in a great position for the World Championships, and the American fans have plenty to be excited about as the team heads to Les Gets.

The downhill team has shown impressive results this season with regular heavyweights like National Champion Dakotah Norton (Oliver Springs, Tenn.; Intense Factory Racing), Aaron Gwin (Morongo Valley, Calif.; Intense Factory Racing) and Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, NC; Canyon Cllctv). The next generation caused a stir in the Elite class with Dante Silva (Chula Vista, CA; Canyon Cllctv Pirelli), Austin Dooley (Yucaipa, CA; Commencal USA) and Christopher Grice (Brevard, NC; Specialized Factory Racing) all improving their results week after week on the World Cup circuit. As for the Elite women, Anna Newkirk (Riehen, Switzerland; Beyond Racing) and Abby Hogie (Heidelberg, Germany; Beyond Racing) have just signed their best results of the season at the Racquet World Cup, finishing 9th and 12th respectively.

The composition of the American team is as follows:

Cross country

Elite Men
  • Christopher Blevins (Durango, CO; Specialized Factory Racing)
Elite women
  • Haley Batten (Park City, Utah; Specialized Factory Racing)
  • Savilia Blunk (Inverness, CA; Orange Seal Off-Road Team)
  • Kate Courtney (Kentfield, CA; SCOTT-SRAM Factory Racing)
  • Gwendalyn Gibson (Ramona, CA; Norco Bicycles)
  • Hannah Otto (Salt Lake City; Pivot Cycles/ DT Switzerland)
  • Kelsey Urban (Kentfield, CA; Team 31: Outride)
Men U23
  • Riley Amos (Durango, CO; Trek Factory Racing)
  • Robbie Day (Evergreen, Colorado; Bear national team)
  • Brayden Johnson (Jordan, Utah; National Bears Team)
  • Bjorn Riley (Boulder, CO; Team Trek VAUDE)
  • Austin Beard (Middlesex, Vermont; Bicycle Express Racing)
U23 Women
  • Sofia Waite (Littleton, CO; WE Development)
  • Ruth Holcomb (Durango, Colorado; National Bears Team)
  • Lauren Lackman (Wausau, Wis.; Rib Mountain Cycles)
  • Madigan Munro (Boulder, CO; Trek Factory Racing)
Junior men
  • Jack Spranger (Sammamish, Wash.; National Bears Team)
  • Cayden Parker (Hot Springs, Ark.; National Bears Team)
  • Daniel English (San Ramon, CA; Flying/Easton/HRS/Rock Lobster)
Junior women
  • Lauren Aggeler (Durango, Colorado; National Bears Team)
  • Bailey Cioppa (Durango, Colorado; National Bears Team)
  • Chloe Fraser (Boulder, CO; Boulder Junior Cycling)


Elite Men
  • Austin Dooley (Yucaipa, CA; Commencal USA)
  • Christopher Grice (Brevard, NC; Specialized Factory Racing)
  • Aaron Gwin (Morongo Valley, CA; Intense Factory Racing)
  • Neko Mulally (Pisgah Forest, NC; Frameworks Racing)
  • Dakotah Norton (Clinton, TN; Intense Factory Racing)
  • Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, NC; Canyon Cllctv)
  • Dante Silva (Chula Vista, CA; Canyon Cllctv Pirelli)
Elite women
  • Ella Erickson (Hayden, Idaho; NW Gravity Collective)
  • Abby Hogie (Heidelberg, Germany; Beyond Racing)
  • Anna Newkirk (Riehen, Switzerland; Beyond Racing)
  • Kailey Skelton (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA; KHS Factory Racing)
Junior men
  • Andrew Driscoll (Bow, NH; Defiant Racing)
  • Colin McElyea (Scottsdale, Ariz.; Evolve Racing)
  • Evan Medcalf (Albuquerque, NM; Evolve Racing)
  • Alden Pate (Snohomish, Wash.; Transition)
  • Ryan Pinkerton (Aliso Viejo, CA; GT Factory Racing)
  • Tyler Zenoni (Short Hills, New Jersey)
Junior women
  • Riley Miller (East Burke, Vermont; Commencal USA)


  • Dave Harrison (Sun Valley, Idaho)
  • Nat Ross (Golden, CO; Tough Guy Productions)
  • Gerald White (Tampa, Florida)
  • Shane Ferro (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Ashley Hendershot (Mansfield, Ohio)

(Visited 113 times, 1 visits today)